Injecting new impetuses into sustainable housing

With one or two exceptions the rented-housing market of the 1970s to mid-1980s produced very few innovations. The handful that emerged – mostly small-scale initiatives – were initiated by private developers or newly established housing cooperatives.

One such private developer is ProMiet AG, who in the 1980s realized the Schauburg model housing project in Hünenberg in Canton Zug. The aim of the project was to provide affordable, ecological, tenancy secure and user-managed living. Following the sale of the estate in 2013, ProMiet AG took the decision to become deeply involved in innovative housing-construction processes. Using new insights and findings, the intention is to set pivotal and innovative impetuses so as to promote sustainable housing construction in Switzerland.

The research-and-development project undertaken jointly by the ETH Wohnforum – ETH CASE and ProMiet AG is comprised of three subsidiary projects. These produce a basis to assist ProMiet AG in deciding, in terms of compositional relevance and public impact, which options to pursue in order to plan and realize concrete stimuli. This requires a knowledge of the relevant innovations in housing development and the extent to which they have proven their worth in practice.

The knowledge base developed in sub-project 1 provides information about the innovations and challenges in the housing sector that can be viewed as currently relevant. The implementation of these aspects is considered in sub-project 2 by means of an evaluation of a representative selection of housing projects. The objective of sub-project 3 is to generate a concept for the subsequently planned publicity and media work, aimed at the concrete realization of these innovative impulses.

Duration: 
2015 to 2016
Financing:

Impulse setzen für einen nachhaltigen Wohnungsbau

Auf dem Mietwohnungsmarkt der 1970er- bis mittleren 1980er-Jahre zeigten sich – von ein paar Ausnahmen abgesehen – kaum innovative Angebote. Die wenigen, meist kleinmassstäblichen Initiativen stammten von privaten Bauträgern oder neu gegründeten Wohnbaugenossenschaften.

Einer dieser privaten Bauträger ist die ProMiet AG, die in den 1980er-Jahren die exemplarische Wohnsiedlung „Schauburg“ in Hünenberg im Kanton Zug erstellte. Ziel des Projekts war es, günstiges, ökologisches, vor Kündigung sicheres und selbstverwaltetes Wohnen zu ermöglichen. Nach dem Verkauf der Siedlung im Jahr 2013 beschloss die ProMiet AG, sich schwergewichtig in innovativen Prozessen im Wohnungsbau zu engagieren. Mit den daraus gewonnenen Erkenntnissen sollen zeitgemässe und innovative Impulse gesetzt werden, die den nachhaltigen Wohnungsbau in der Schweiz fördern.

Das von ETH Wohnforum – ETH CASE und der ProMiet AG durchgeführte Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekt besteht aus drei Teilprojekten. Für die ProMiet AG resultieren daraus Entscheidungsgrundlagen mit dem Ziel, welche inhaltlich relevanten und öffentlichkeitswirksamen Optionen gewählt werden sollen, um konkrete Impulse zu planen und umzusetzen. Dazu ist Wissen über relevante Innovationen im Wohnungsbau nötig und wie sich diese in der Praxis bewährt haben.

Die im Teilprojekt 1 erarbeiteten Wissensgrundlagen geben Aufschluss über die aktuell als relevant betrachteten Innovationen und Herausforderungen im Wohnungsbau. Wie diese Aspekte  umgesetzt wurden, erschliesst das Teilprojekt 2 mittels Evaluation in einer exemplarischen Auswahl von Siedlungen. Ziel des Teilprojekts 3 ist ein Konzept für die anschliessend geplante Öffentlichkeits- und Medienarbeit zur konkreten Umsetzung von Innovationsimpulsen. 

Laufzeit: 
2015 bis 2016
Finanzierung: